The following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

Director, .					Theodore D. Rand.	
Vice-Director,					William W. Jefferis.	
Conservator, .					F. J. Keeley.	
Corresponding	Secretar	ry an	d Rec	order,	Charles Schäffer, M.D.	
Treasurer, .		· .			Emma Walter.	
Respectfully submitted,						
		-	v	THEC	DORE D. RAND,	

Director.

REPORT OF THE ORNITHOLOGICAL SECTION.

The ornithological collections of the Academy remain in practically the same condition as last year, lack of cases still preventing the removal of the main exhibition series to the new building, where it is eventually to be displayed. This collection has, however, been carefully examined during the year and the specimens in each family systematically arranged, which adds materially to the ease of consulting them.

The Delaware Valley Club collection has been largely increased and entirely relabelled, full information being given regarding each specimen, and a card added, on which the distribution and abundance of each species in Pennsylvania and New Jersey are described. The Club has met regularly during the year at the Academy, and on November 13–16, 1899, the American Ornithologists' Union held its annual congress in the building. This is the first time that a congress has been held in Philadelphia, and it is gratifying to know that the attendance of members and the number of papers presented was greater than on any previous occasion.

The most important accession during the year has been the Josiah Hoopes Collection of North American land birds, which was already on deposit, and which has now been purchased by friends of the Academy.

This collection of some 8,000 specimens renders the Academy's series of North American land birds nearly complete, and adds a large number of species heretofore lacking.

The Fowler collection of Pennsylvania and New Jersey birds has been added to the Stone collection already deposited, and being rich in water birds the two form a very complete local study series.

548

[1899.

1899.] NATURAL SCIENCES OF PHILADELPHIA.

Dr. S. W. Woodhouse also presented a valuable collection formed by him many years ago, which contains much of historic interest.

The main collection of skins has been carefully examined during the year, and found to be in an excellent state of preservation. Better accommodations are, however, badly needed for a number of families of Old World birds which are temporarily stored in packing cases, but which should be arranged in air tight tin cases to ensure their safety.

The Conservator wishes to acknowledge much assistance from Mr. H. W. Fowler, student of the Jessup Fund, and to Mr. J. A. G. Rehn, who has throughout the year voluntarily given his assistance in the care and arrangement of the ornithological collections.

The collections have been very extensively consulted during the year, and many specimens have been loaned to ornithologists in other institutions.

At the annual meeting of the Section, held December 18, 1899, the following officers were elected:

Director,				Spencer Trotter, M.D.
Vice-Director,				George Spencer Morris.
Secretary, .				William A. Shryock.
Recorder, .				Stewardson Brown.
Conservator an	$d \ T$	'reasure	r, .	Witmer Stone.

Respectfully submitted,

WITMER STONE, Conservator.

549

[1899.

The election of Officers, Councillors and Members of the Committee on Accounts to serve during 1900 was held with the following result:

President, .				Samuel G. Dixon, M.D.
Vice-Presidents,				Thomas Meehan,
í literatura (Rev. Henry C. McCook, D.D.
Recording Secre	tary,			Edward J. Nolan, M.D.
Corresponding S	ecreta	ry,		Benjamin Sharp, M.D.
Treasurer, .				George Vaux, Jr.
Librarian, .				Edward J. Nolan, M.D.
Curators, .				Henry A. Pilsbry,
				Henry C. Chapman, M.D.,
				Arthur Erwin Brown,
				Samuel G. Dixon, M.D.
Councillors to se	rve th	ree ye	ars,	Thomas A. Robinson,
		0		Charles H. Cramp,
				Charles Morris,
				Isaac J. Wistar.
Committee on A	ccount.	8		Uselma C. Smith,
				Charles Morris,
				William L. Baily,
				Harold Wingate,
				Lewis Woolman.

COUNCIL FOR 1900.

Ex-officio.—Samuel G. Dixon, M.D., Thomas Meehan, Rev. Henry C. McCook, D.D., Edward J. Nolan, M.D., Benjamin Sharp, M.D., George Vaux, Jr., Henry A. Pilsbry, Henry C. Chapman, M.D., Arthur Erwin Brown.

To serve Three Years. —Thomas A. Robinson, Charles H. Cramp, Charles Morris, Isaac J. Wistar.

To serve Two Years.—Charles E. Smith, Uselma C. Smith, John Cadwalader, William Sellers.

To serve One Year.—Charles Schaeffer, M.D., Dr. C. Newlin Pierce, Theodore D. Rand and Philip P. Calvert, Ph.D.

550